Unseren NEWSLETTER ABONNIEREN >>>
Oktober 2, 2022

Reviews April 2022

 

TREAT - The Endgame

Veröffendlichung: 08.04.2022

Frontiers Music Srl is proud to announce the forthcoming release of Swedish melodic rock band Treat's ninth studio album, "The Endgame". With bassist Nalle Påhlsson (who appeared on "Coup De Grace") back in the ranks, vocalist Robert Ernlund, guitarist Anders ”Gary” Wikström, drummer Jamie Borger, and keyboardist Patrick Appelgren have once again set a course for yet another exciting musical journey. Twelve songs in total, including uptempo rockers, ballads, '80s sounding gems, and ones with musical influences beyond the ordinary, make this album another definitive statement by the quintet from the south of Stockholm that they are leaders in the Swedish Melodic Hard Rock scene. Produced by Peter Mansson (who also helmed "Tunguska" and "Ghost Of Graceland"), "The Endgame," by all means qualifies as a true classic album from Treat.

"We always want to make albums that are better than the last one. The album title, to me, represents many things about Treat in this day and age, including the sincerity and history of the band. But also the fight to survive as a band like brothers in arms, through all these years of highs and lows, tears and laughter. Seriously, we grew up together in the '80s, learning how to make our brand of Melodic Hard Rock by heart and we still continue to work that hard even today. We're as close as a family and we're blessed to still be able to get in the ring and be on top of our game," says guitarist Anders Wikstrom.For a band that's been going for nearly four decades, inspiration and the drive to create fresh material still propels Treat.

"Well, for me, it always starts with the song, and that exciting feeling which leads to the next one, and so on. As a longtime songwriter, I trust my gut instinct, but I know the material will take new and better shape when the rest of the guys get in the creative loop, and remember, deep down we're still kids and fans of great rock music and we still get excited when a cool idea turns into a great song," says Wikstrom."We were focused on making the best possible Treat effort, and all of us decided, early on, to make this a positive and uplifting record to be proud of in the years to come. I guess we found the working process to be our sane and safe haven in the midst of this new daily life none of us could have predicted would happen," he continues. "We started the basic track recordings in Atlantis Studios in Stockholm in November 2020, moved on to Baggpipe Studios and Peter Mansson´s Mir Studios in the spring/summer of 2021 for lead vocals and overdubs, then finished mixing in Mir Studios in Stockholm in October 2021.

Most of us have our own studios at home, where we do additional tracking, but to get the sound we wanted for "The Endgame", we did take our time to find the right recording rooms and studio facilities, and the result speaks for itself!""Peter [Mansson] is one of the best rock producers I know, and also a longtime friend. He knows us inside out, pros and cons, and will always give an arm and a leg to make our vision come true. His contribution to this album as producer, recording and mixing engineer is outstanding. He´s also an excellent musician and he's become almost like a sixth member of the gang, a fantastic guy and we love him," adds Wikstrom."We really hope our fans will love this album as much we do because we made it for YOU!" he concludes.

Tracklist:
Freudian Slip
Rabbit Hole
Sinbiosis
Home Of The Brave
Both Ends Burning
My Parade
Wake Me When It’s Over
Jesus From Hollywood
Magic
Carolina Reaper
Dark To Light
To The End Of Love

LINE-UP:
Robert Ernlund - Lead Vocals
Anders ”Gary” Wikström - Guitars, Backing vocals
Jamie Borger - Drums, Percussion
Nalle Påhlsson - Bass, Backing vocals
Patrick Appelgren - Keyboards, Backing vocals

Social Media:
https://www.facebook.com/treatofficial/
https://www.instagram.com/treatnews
https://twitter.com/TREATtheband 

MEINUNG:

TREAT...diese Band "stalke" ich musikalisch schon seit den 80ern.Und ich bekomme immer noch nicht genug von ihnen.Vor ein paar Jahren dürfte ich sie endlich LIVE in Bochum erleben.Das war ein Feiertag für mich.Endlich...

Wie auch damals werde ich mit diesem Album ebenfalls nicht enttäuscht!Warum?Weil...wenn ich TREAT höre,wird ein verregneter Tag sonnig.Ihr versteht,was ich meine.

Natürlich-es gab auch mal mal Songs-und vielleicht auch mal ein Album-die mich nicht so ansprachen.Aber in der Gesamtheit sind fast alle TREAT-Nummern Ohrwürmer.Meine Ohren wissen,was sie bei TREAT bekommen.So auch auch meine Gesichtsmuskulatur,die sich immer einem Lächeln hinreißen lässt.

FAZIT:TREAT begleiten mich schon ewig.Und so wird es auch immer sein!Danke,das es TREAT gibt!

10 von 10 Punkte


Inglorious - MMXXI Live At The Phoenix

Veröffendlichung: 08.04.2022

Frontiers Music Srl is proud to present the first ever live release from the UK's Inglorious, "MMXXI Live At The Phoenix". Set for release on CD/DVD, LP, Blu-ray, & Digital on April 8, 2022, this performance was captured in September 2021 at Exeter Phoenix in Exeter, UK. The performance captures the British hard rockers unleashed on stage after being, like so many bands, stuck at home and unable to tour due to the worldwide pandemic. A formidable live band to begin with, the added dose of adrenaline coming from being tigers unleashed from a cage makes for a stunning live performance showcasing songs from their four studio albums, Inglorious, II, Ride To Nowhere, and We Will Ride, and their most recent studio recording, the covers album Heroine.

The band's lineup, gelled and cohesive after having toured for the band's third album, writing and recording together for the fourth album, and the recording of their covers album, hit the stage on this tour with a passion and fury that can only come from being prevented from doing something you love for way too long. And, thankfully, one of these performances was captured for hard rock fans around the world to be able to see and hear this incredible live band in action. "MMXXI Live At The Phoenix" is a much needed documentation of this powerful band in the live setting.

After the beginning of the worldwide pandemic in early 2020, Inglorious got to work on writing their fourth studio album, "We Will Ride". Recorded in the later summer/early fall of that year and released in February 2021, "We Will Ride" was their first official recording with new members guitarists Danny Dela Cruz and Dan Stevens and bassist Vinnie Colla, who joined original members vocalist Nathan James and drummer Phil Beaver. Recorded in Cardiff with the renowned producer Romesh Dodangoda (Bring Me The Horizon, Bullet For My Valentine, Motörhead), this album saw the band renewed and rejuvenated. The five-piece had already been touring together for the band's previous release, "Ride To Nowhere," but this was the first time they had been able to record together and "We Will Ride" was a well-received, critically acclaimed album highlighting the player's chemistry.

After the release of "We Will Ride" in February 2021, it quickly became apparent that touring would not be returning as soon as possible, so the idea of using the downtime to record a covers album, "Heroine," came to be. A tribute to the various outstanding female musicians who have influenced the band either musically and/or vocally, Inglorious put their own hard rock imprint on pop hits from Whitney Houston, Miley Cyrus, Avril Lavigne, and Christina Aguilera in addition to taking on timeless classic rock songs by Tina Turner, Heart, and Joan Jett, and contemporary rock by the likes of Evanescence, Alanis Morissette, and Halestorm. The band's versatility shone through with the song selections for this covers album, which was released in September 2021....and saw the band finally able to hit the road in support of their not one, but now two new releases.

Inglorious are five young men with a mutual love and respect for two long-running tentpoles of hard rock music: big guitar riffs and soulful vocals. Formed in February 2014, the band is fronted by Nathan James, who made a name for himself having sung for the multi-platinum selling Trans-Siberian Orchestra and legendary Scorpions guitarist Uli Jon Roth. Nathan was looking for like-minded musicians that desired to make incredible rock music in a very honest fashion. The band’s self-titled debut album received critical and fan acclaim. The follow up album, “II” was another well received affair and was followed by the band’s third album, “Ride To Nowhere". Their fourth studio album, “We Will Ride” was released in February 2021 and charted in the UK, U.S., and several European countries, and followed in September 2021 by a covers album, "Heroine", which produced the same results as it's predecessor.

The band has toured extensively in the UK and Europe, including appearances at prominent festivals like Download and Ramblin’ Man in the summer of 2021.

Tracklist:

CD
She Won't Let You Go
Messiah
Breakaway
Where Are You Now?
Read All About It
Barracuda
Holy Water
He Will Provide
I Don't Need Your Loving
We Will Ride
Until I Die

DVD/Blu-ray:
She Won't Let You Go
Messiah
Breakaway
Where Are You Now?
Read All About It
Barracuda
Holy Water
He Will Provide
I Don't Need Your Loving
We Will Ride
Until I Die

Total length: 0.48.09

LINE-UP:
Nathan James – Lead Vocals
Danny De La Cruz – Guitar
Dan Stevens – Guitar
Vinnie Colla – Bass Guitar
Phil Beaver- Drums/Percussion

Social Media:
http://inglorious.com/
https://www.facebook.com/weareinglorious
https://www.instagram.com/weareinglorious/
https://twitter.com/weareinglorious

MEINUNG:

Ich werde einfach nicht "warm" mit dieser Band.Musikalisch sind die Jungs schon Klasse...Aber genau das ist der Punkt:ich finde da für mich keinen musikalischen Zugang.

Ohne Zweifel...Das Live-Album ist gut produziert.Da kenne ich wesendlich schlechtere...ABER...Nach einer gewissen Zeit fand wurde es für meine Ohren langweilig.Ich muss es mal so KLAR sagen.Sicher...es gibt so die ein oder andere Nummer oder Passage auf dem Album,die ich ganz gut finde...Nur war es das dann auch schon-für mich!

6 von 10 Punkte


Ann Wilson - Fierce Bliss

Veröffendlichung: 29.04.2022

Ann Wilson veröffentlicht mit “A Moment in Heaven” eine neue Single/ Video aus ihrem neuen Album  “Fierce Bliss” (VÖ 29. April via Silver Lining Music)

 

“’A Moment in Heaven erzählt die Geschichte eines One-Hit -Wonder in der Hollywood Maschinerie: die Grausamkeit des flüchtigen Ruhms“Ann Wilson

“A Moment in Heaven” birgt für Wilson einen spezifischen Referenzpunkt, es kann aber jeder sein, der sich plötzlich im hellen Schein des Ruhms entdeckt und dann schnell aus dem Spotlight entfernt wird. “Es ist eine dieser Anti-Hollywood Tiraden” sagt Wilson, “es ist der Fleischwolf der Musikindustrie, durch den man gedreht wird und wie es sich anfühlt, das zu erleben. Plötzlich passiert alles wie mit einer Schubdüse, du hast ein Nummer 1 Album, Champagner wird über dir ausgeschüttet und jeder erzählt dir, wie sehr du diesen Erfolg ‘verdient‘ hast. Du bist im 7. Himmel! Und dann schlägt es mit voller, grausamer Wucht zu… was kommt als Nächstes? Kannst du so erfolgreich weitermachen? Es geht um den kurzen, glamourösen Ruhm und die Ekstase wenn du im Rock Geschäft erfolgreich bist.“

Official Lyric Video ‘A Moment in Heaven’: https://youtu.be/sS09mDXHLzk

Es ist eine ruhige, ernsthafte Aura mit einer gewissen Spiritualität, die Ann Wilson umgibt und die dich sofort in ihren Bann zieht. Es ist etwas Warmes, Weises und du erkennst sofort, dass es jemand ist, der genug Bullshit gesehen und erlebt hat und den inneren Frieden gefunden hat. Und genau deswegen ist der Titel des Albums “Fierce Bliss“ so versprechend und offeriert Unterhaltung, gute Musik, Engagement, Ehrlichkeit und einen sicheren Hafen in diesen unvorhersehbaren Zeiten.

Als eine der besten Rock-Stimmen aller Zeiten blickt Ann Wilson mit ihrer Band Heart auf 8-faches Platin zurück und verkaufte mehr  35 Millionen Alben, Wegbereiter der Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame,  seit der Gründung 1973. Während ihrer Dekaden-langen Karriere hatte Wilson alles: eine Achterbahn von Ruhm, Geld und Verrücktheit und sie hat nicht nur die guten sondern auch die harten Seiten des Geschäftes kennenlernen müssen. Im Sommer 2020 traf sie den legendären Künstler-Anwalt Brian Rohan, der letztendlich der Katalysator für die Enstehung von Fierce Bliss war.

“Brian hat mir Leute empfohlen, die wiederrum Leute in  Nashville kannten und so traf ich Tom Bukovac und Tony Lucido bei den Muscle Shoals Sound Studio Sessions. Ich traf sie dort zum ersten Mal und sie haben mich sofort inspiriert. Es war, als ob ein großes Tor geöffnet wurde.”

“Eigentlich wollte ich nur rein paar Songs aufnehmen und schauen, wie es wird, aber es kam anders. Im Sound Stage in Nashville kam Kenny Wayne Shepherd dazu und spielte bei einigen Songs. Er war ein komplett anderer Einfluß. Er spielte sich den Hintern ab und zusammen mit den Gospel Singern vereinte sich alles und das ganze Projekt wuchs” und Wilson fährt fort: “ich kannte  Warren Haynes von Gov’t Mule schon eine ganze Weile. Wir haben einige Songs zusammen geschrieben und die haben die Platte abgerundet. Und plötzlich war da ein Album mit Songs, die ich unglaublich mochte.“

 Fierce Bliss ist ein klassischer Rockhappen mit den besten Zutaten, reich und gleichzeitig leicht und belebend, was es dir ermöglicht, in zeitlose Nostalgie einzutauchen. 11 perfekt ausgewogene und ausgewählte Songs bestehend aus Eigenkompositionen aber auch Coversongs. “A Moment in Heaven” ist für jeden, der schon mal im glänzenden Licht gestanden hat bevor das Spotlight dann abrupt auf jemanden anderen gerichtet wurde. Spiritualität kommt bei “Black Wing” und “Angel’s Blues” zum Tragen; Seele und Ethos inklusive. Wilson haucht Queens “Love of My Life” und Robin Trower’s “Bridge of Sighs” neues Leben ein und es kann durchaus mit dem Original standhalten.

Der berühmte Fantasy Künstler Roger Dean zeichnet für das Artwork verantwortlich, bekannt geworden ist er durch das Sleeve-Artwork der Band Yes.

Wilson wird demnächst mit ihrer neuen Band auf Tour gehen. Mit allem scheint es, dass Ann Wilson sich super wohl in ihrer Haut fühlt - mit der neuen Band und auf jeden Fall mit Fierce Bliss.   “Ich denke, jemand, der durch so viele Höhen und Tiefen gegangen ist, sollte seine Erfahrungen mit den Fans teilen. Ich habe von so vielen jüngeren Bands und auch Fans dankbar gehört, wie toll sie es finden, dass ich immer noch da bin, aufrecht stehe und alles mit meiner eigenen Würde durchlebt habe“.

 

Offizielles Video zur 1. Single “GREED”: https://youtu.be/tO_xfH-zY1E

ALBUM FIERCE BLISS IS AVAILABLE TO PRE-ORDER: https://lnk.to/AnnWilsonFierceBliss

 

Fierce Bliss Track Listing:

  1. Greed
  2. Black Wing
  3. Bridge Of Sighs
  4. Fighten For Life
  5. Love Of My Life (feat. Vince Gill)
  6. Missionary Man
  7. Gladiator
  8. Forget Her
  9. A Moment In Heaven
  10. Angel’s Blues*
  11. As The World Turns

*Available on CD and digital formats only

 

Ann Wilson - Gesang

Tom Bukovac - Gitarre

Tony Lucido - Bass

Sean T Lane - Drums, Percussion & Bike

Gordon Mote - Keyboards

Tim Lauer - Keyboards

 

Produziert von  Ann Wilson und Tom Bukovac

“Gladiator” und “Angel’s Blues” produziert von Ann Wilson und Warren Haynes

 

Mix von Chuck Ainlay

Aufgenommen von Chuck Ainlay at Fame Studios, Muscle Shoals, AL und Soundstage, Nashville, TN

“Gladiator” und “Angel’s Blues” recorded von Joe Paterno at Power Station, Waterford, CT

Black Wing Recorded von Sean Walker at Uberbeatz, Lynnwood, WA

Gemastert von Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound, Edgewater, NJ

Executive Producer Jim Zumwalt

 

Musiker auf Fierce Bliss:

Gesang - Vince Gill auf “Love of My Life”

Lead Gitarre - Kenny Wayne Shepherd auf “Bridge of Sighs” und “Missionary Man”

Gitarre - Warren Haynes auf “Gladiator” und “Angel’s Blues”

Gitarre - Tyler Boley auf “Black Wing”

Keyboards - Danny Louis auf “Gladiator” und “Angel’s Blues”

Keyboards - Dan Walker auf “Black Wing”

Bass - Jorgen Carlsson auf “Gladiator” und “Angel’s Blues”

Bass - Andy Stoller auf “Black Wing”

Drums - Matt Abts  auf “Gladiator” und “Angel’s Blues”

Chor - The Rev Nathan Young Singers auf “Missionary Man”


Mehr Infos unter:

www.facebook.com/officialannwilson
www.instagram.com/annwilson/
www.twitter.com/AnnWilson
www.youtube.com/c/Theannwilsonthing1
www.annwilson.com/

MEINUNG:

Höre ich diese Stimme höre ich HEART (Barracuda...Alone...) Wäre jetzt noch ihre Schwester Nancy  mit am Start... Aber...

...es ist Ann Wilson auf Solopfaden.

Es gibt Künstler,an denen kommst du einfach nicht vorbei.Erst recht nicht,wenn sie die 70er und 80er musikalisch mitgeprägt haben.Diese Stimme hast du damals überall im Radio gehört.Kaum ein Tag verging,ohne das man - und da bin ich dann auch wieder bei HEART - Ann Wilson und ihre ebenfalls tolle Nancy hören konnte.Ich persönlich habe mich immer sehr gefreut,sie zu hören,weil mir das immer wieder ein Lächeln ins Gesich gezaubert hat.Das geht mir auch bei diesem Album und bei diesen Songs heute nicht anders.

Eines der Highlights ist QUEENS Love Of My Life (feat. Vince Gill).

Dieses Album wirst du auch noch in 20 Jahre toll finden.Es ist "zeitlos"Klasse produziert!

10 von 10 Punkte


Joe Satriani - The Elephants Of Mars

Veröffendlichung: 08.04.2022

Joe Satriani’s version of carpe diem seems to be continuously in play, a mantra ready to shift into position no matter what the exact circumstances might be.
The Elephants of Mars, the virtuoso guitarist’s 19th studio album and his first for earMUSIC, sprang to life as an unexpected worldwide pandemic enveloped the globe. Like so many others, the San Francisco musician had a busy year planned.

Shapeshifting, his then-current album, was set for release in April of 2020.The usual Satriani cycle of album, tour, album, tour, meant that he was gearing up to circle the planet in support of the highly anticipated record.

Instead, he had a new date added to the tour schedule. Home.Initially, he had the idea that they would wait it out in regards to the pandemic, staying occupied by recording “two loose albums” as they lay in wait for the day that they could get back to the road and promote Shapeshifting. One would be an instrumental and one would be structured around vocal material.

Both would showcase and introduce his new band so that when they did finally get to tour, fans would be aware, “This is what they can do.” He planned to just give the new music away at no cost. As the pandemic period lengthened, he realized that it made more sense to change focus and work on making the next proper instrumental album instead.

From the outset, Satriani set goals for himself. “I've done a lot of records that have swung back and forth stylistically,” he admits. The guitarist had an aim to create a “new standard” when it came to crafting an instrumental guitar record. There are a lot of different ways to do that, he allows, mentioning jazz, fusion and rock records, in addition to “the current crop of young,brilliant players,” who are playing “all kinds of stuff.” Recognizing all of this,he notes, “I am a product of my generation, and I am the end result of all these influences.”

He strove to openly challenge himself to move away from what he describes as “the classic rock” tone of the past few albums he’s put out, replacing that with “a new platform of his own design.

“Okay, I know what everybody else is doing. But I want to be in this new area,” he explains. “I do want to show people that the instrumental guitar album can contain far more complexity of creative elements than I think people are using right now.”

The band for The Elephants of Mars marries players from Satriani’s universe both past and present. Legendary drummer Kenny Aronoff (John Fogerty,Smashing Pumpkins) is back for his second consecutive tour of duty with the guitarist following his initial debut on Shapeshifting. Bassist Bryan Beller slipsinside the liner notes for the first time since 2015’s Shockwave Supernova.Longtime associate Eric Caudieux has been in the Satch orbit since 1998’s Crystal Planet and also produced the album, collaborating on the mixes with Greg Koller (Bruce Springsteen, Beyonce). Rai Thistlethwayte is the newest addition, beaming in from overseas where he was splitting his time between Australia and Tasmania.

While he has worked separately in the past with band members, Satriani often favored the approach of getting everyone in a room and following the spirit of the collaborations that developed. They would take a decidedly different path with The Elephants of Mars. The lockdown dictated an intriguing new direction that was joined by similarly exciting results.

Album opener “Sahara” immediately demonstrates that Satriani and his band are pushing deep into previously uncharted territory, quickly building out a cinematic soundscape that both musically and rhythmically feels as if one is surrounded by desert-like desolation.

Originally envisioned as a vocal piece, “Sahara Love Is the Answer,” it was Caudieux who urged Satriani to consider taking a second look at the track, to convert it into an instrumental. The guitarist decided to humor his collaborator and take a shot at it. He found it to be a “bonus” that he had a full set of lyrics, a helpful compass as to what the song was supposed to be
about.

Sending musical ideas back and forth with Caudieux, what emerged was a song which has become one of their favorites of the album sessions and one that took pole position at the head of the record.

“It was all about a person who was completely lost, feeling totally isolated.He's walking the streets of an area like Gotham, in New York City. And there's nobody around,” Satriani says, spooling out the initial storyline. “It's almost like a desert, except it's a decaying urban landscape. And then he meets this spirit, and then it gets crazy. We were able to keep some of the melodies that
were part of the vocal melodies and it just turned into something that wound up being one of our favorite songs, and we wound up putting it first on the album because we related to it so much.”

Satriani’s ongoing work on musical cues related to his Crystal Planet comic book series gave birth to the title track of The Elephants of Mars. He recalls that his original demo version had a Nine Inch Nails-like beat built around synthesizers and a guitar section he had cut years ago. He was intrigued byone piece which had a sound that to his ears, “sounded like electronic
elephants with the air coming through the trunks and everything.”

Pulling in that same guitar part as inspiration, originally recorded on an iPhone, Satriani recorded a fresh take of the guitar line and began to manipulate other parts of the song. “I wrote a section where I could just do a totally open guitar solo and I came up with the idea of using the symmetrical scale,” he recalls. “Just because I thought it was so much fun and it's so weird, it would fit the meaning of the song.”

Constructing a middle section and end solo, now it was time to set the elephants free. “The idea was now we really have to turn up those elephants because it really sets up the song,” Satriani begins. “But how do we get that weird synthesizer patch to match Kenny and Bryan and Joe just going crazy?Finally Rai comes in and he does a Deep Purple, Jon Lord organ kind of thing
throughout the whole song.”

It was a big vision to pull together and in the end, Satriani says, “We were literally working on sections and crossing our fingers that it was going to work.” Happily, they were able to reach the perfect storm. “‘The Elephants of Mars’ sounds in the beginning finally made sense,” he concludes. “It took a lot of experience and technical work to get all those sound and sonic elements together to work with the rock band and make it sound like you're on Mars and the elephants are charging and they're gigantic.”

Aronoff and Caudieux were both in the Los Angeles area and were able to work together directly with the producer recording Aronoff’s parts at the drummer’s own Uncommon Studios. With each isolated in separate areas of the studio, Caudieux coaxed out an exciting variety of performances from the drum legend. “I got some of the craziest things from those sessions,” Satriani
reflects. The marimba parts on “Night Scene” were a first for both the guitarist and the drummer.

The musical pattern had begun as a guitar part. It was Caudieux who heard how much it sounded like a marimba and wondered if they could get Aronoff to play it on an actual marimba instead.

“Kenny was like, 'I am doing this because I studied this instrument since I was in college and I've never been able to get on an album doing it,” Satriani recalls with a chuckle. “So, we just
thought, ‘Well, that's the best reason ever, let's just do it.'” Similarly, the creative gates were wide open for all of the musicians to take liberties on the songs for The Elephants of Mars and share a side of themselves they hadn’t previously been able to. “The songs are so out there,they're such an odd collection of stuff, from, you know, "Faceless" to "Pumpin'," he explains. “They're so different that everyone was able to take the song as a separate entity and say, 'I always wanted to do this in a song, I hope the album receives it.' Eric and I were really keen on making sure that everybody felt that -- that each song was an opportunity for them to apply themselves to the song as a singular entity.”

Working as a rhythm section for the first time, Beller and Aronoff would easily find their collective mojo. The bassist had seen the drummer play with Satriani on the Experience Hendrix tour and even though the skinsman is “one of the most recorded drummers ever,” as the guitarist terms it, the pair would still have plenty to explore together. “Kenny is so deep, he's always laying a new thing on people,” Joe says. “You give him the opportunity and he says, ‘Here's a new version of Kenny.’”

Highlighting the fusion vibe of “Pumpin’” and the similarly jazzy feel of “Night Scene,” Satriani calls Beller’s bass playing “unbelievable,” noting how the songs rise to the next level, thanks to the pairing of the bassist and Aronoff.

The demo for “Night Scene” was an automated thing,” he shares. “I said to them, ‘Look, I don't know if this is humanly possible to play those parts like that, so you change them if you need to change them.' But wow, I mean, they made them sound so much better and even more menacing, and fat and groovy and everything. There's nothing like fingers on strings, you know?”

While the pandemic found the musicians relying on numerous methods of communication since they weren’t in the same room -- including text messages back and forth with idea fragments, occasionally, it was the things that weren’t said which delivered surprising results.

Thistlethwayte was traveling when he received the initial tracks for “Sailing the Seas of Ganymede” to add his keyboard part. “In that particular song, Rai decided to do a solo in the wrong spot. But it was like once we heard it, everybody was just like, so blown away,” Satriani says with an incredulous tone. “We said, 'No, Rai owns that spot. We're not even gonna say that's the
wrong spot.' Like you got it.”

“He did that a couple of times, and I'm not sure if he did it because we didn't tell him where the right spot was, or because he just thought 'I think this is better,' but we never argued with whatever he did,” Satriani continues. “I mean his solos are really, really remarkable. I mean, just crazy good. They
really raised the game on the album when it came to those bursts of crazy
expression.”

The futuristic tone of “Through a Mother’s Day Darkly” is another moment that takes up partial residence in the worlds of Crystal Planet. Satriani had written an initial sketch on Mother’s Day, pulling out a seven string guitar that hadn’t seen the light of day from its case in a number of years. He liked the “dirty, punky seven string guitar performance,” but wasn’t sure where to
go from there.

Again, it would be Caudieux who heard something in the idea that the guitarist sent around. “Let me play with it,” he told Satriani. He posed the idea of adding orchestral elements, but it would be a struggle that played out over a period of months figuring out how to keep the “raw one pass guitar performance” that they both saw as a key part of the song.

The dramatic voiceover Satriani’s Crystal Planet partner Ned Evett contributed to bring the song home adds an unexpected sci-fi twist to The Elephants of Mars. “Through a Mother’s Day Darkly” takes listeners on a gripping journey that fits surprisingly well in the album sequence.

Ultimately, The Elephants of Mars stands as one of the most intriguing and interesting albums of Satriani’s career. With each new recording adventure that he embarks on, there’s always a carefully considered grouping of players, song ideas that have been vigorously vetted and studio environments and producers to be selected. In the end this time, Satriani and his bandmates would take the roads less traveled.

“One of the strange effects of the pandemic and recording an album remotely at home, and being away from everybody, was that we all had time,” Satriani says, reflecting on the many experiences he had previously, especially in the early days of his career, working against the clock. “We pretty much just kept working on the album without any hiccups.”

The results were “fortuitous by default,” he realizes now. “Normally we would have spent two months all huddled together in a room screaming at each other getting a record done. Instead, it was done through video conferencing and over the phone and text messages. You know, play faster,play slower, less notes, more notes. How about this idea?”

“The music just got so much better. I think especially with Eric. I granted him this sort of license to take something that I'd given him and turn it upside down,” Satriani continues. “That's something that he wouldn't be able to do if we were in a studio filled with a band with the time clock ticking away. It would have been 'Oh, well, you know, in another life we could have done
this.' Instead, we did all those things. We did the craziest ideas. And we entertained every notion we had about turning something backwards, upside down, seeing what could happen.”

Now, it’s the listener that gets to take the wheel for the next leg of the trip,an epic 67 minute trek. “How do I want my closest fan to feel when they hear this music,” Satriani asks, midway through the conversation. He laughs as he delivers the next thought. “That's what you're trying to communicate and everything else is out of your control anyway. You can’t decide what people
are going to like or not like, so you just follow your heart.”

MEINUNG:

Grundsätzlich mag ich J.SATRIANI.Ich mag GENERELL Gitarren-Alben.Vielleicht mit wenigen Ausnahmen...

Auch dieses Album ist nach meinem Geschmack.SATRIANI liefert WIE IMMER solides "Zeug" ab!

ALLERDINGS...es gibt ja so Alben oder Künstler/Bands,die findest du so RICHTIG Super...Die hörst du auch 10 Mal hintereinander,ohne das sie dich "nerven"!Es gibt aber auch Künstler/Bands...da wirst du nicht SO RICHTIG warm mit dem Material über Jahre!UND GENAUSO geht´s mir bei J.SATRIANI!Ich hör den mal ganz gern...vielleicht auch ein Album 2 x hintereinander...aber das war´s denn auch erstmal für eine gewisse Zeit!Ich meine das garnicht böse!

Was man ihm aber lassen muss...ohne jeden Zweifel:ER liefert ab!Und nur das zählt!

9 von 10 Punkte


Disconnected - We Are Disconnected

Veröffentlichung: 01.04.2022

Sie veröffentlichten ihr Debütalbum "White Colossus" im März 2018 über das Indie-Label Apathia Records auf allen wichtigen Streaming-Plattformen und mit physischen Veröffentlichungen in Europa und Japan.

Nachdem sie zahlreiche Gigs in Frankreich gespielt hatten, eröffneten sie 2018 die Europatournee von Tremonti und spielten weitere 24 Shows in 17 Ländern. Dadurch konnte die europäische Fangemeinde vor allem in Großbritannien, Deutschland und Frankreich erweitert werden.

Nachdem Drouot Production und Ossy Hoppe von Wizard Promotion auf die Band aufmerksam wurden, wurde sie eingeladen, im Januar 2019 für Judas Priest zu eröffnen (Zenith of Paris).

Disconnected unterstützten auch Mass Hysteria im März und November 2019.

Die Band wird auch auf dem Rock Fest 2022 (verschobene Ausgabe von 2020) in Barcelona, Wacken Open Air 2022 (verschobene Ausgabe von 2020) in Deutschland, und Festival des Cabaret Vert 2022 (verschobene Ausgabe von 2020).

Sie haben ihr zweites Album aufgenommen und planen, es in der ersten Hälfte des Jahres 2022 zu veröffentlichen.

Zuvor veröffentlichten sie am 10. April 2020 einen ersten Auszug: " UNSTOPPABLE " mit bereits mehr als 950 000 Streams auf Spotify und mehr als 100 000 Views auf das Musikvideo (Facebook und Youtube Views zusammen)

Als 2020 die Pandemie ausbrach und fast alle Live-Veranstaltungen auf 2022 verschoben wurden, beschlossen sie, an einer EP zu arbeiten, um ihren Fans 2021 etwas Neues zu bieten.

6,5 von 10 Punkte


DeVicious - Phase Three

Veröffendlichung: 14.04.2022

Nach dem überraschenden Erfolg des Vorgängeralbums „Phase Three“ melden sich DeVicious nun mit ihrem heiß ersehnten, vierten Studioalbum „Black Heart“ zurück!

Nach dem die ersten drei CDs innerhalb von nur drei Jahren veröffentlicht wurden,nutze die internationale, in Deutschland beheimatete Gruppe die durch die Pandemie entstandene Zwangspause und investierte insgesamt 137 Tage in die Songwriting- und Produktionsphase. Das Ergebnis: das melodischste, härteste,wütendste, aber dennoch frischeste und einzigartigste Album bis dato!

Die Zeit mit rund anderthalb Jahren im Lockdown und verdammt dazu,zuzuschauen, wie weltweit ein Konzert nach dem anderen abgesagt wurde, nahm großen Einfluss auf die Texte und die Musik. DeVicious kehrten mit folgender goldener Regel ins Studio zurück: sich nicht selbst zu kopieren und stilistisch offen zu sein, solange das Spielen Spaß macht und die Melodie fett genug ist!

Bandchef und -produzent Alex Frey wollte hier eine andere Atmosphäre kreieren als auf den Vorgängeralben. DeVicious sehen sich seit jeher selbst als Gruppe mit Stadiontauglichen Melodien, welche allerdings oft die Gefahr bergen, sich stilistisch zu limitieren und wenig Freiheiten zuzulassen. „Black Heart” enthält nun Einflüsse von traditionellem Hard Rock, Metal, Melodic Metal, Progressive Rock und sogar einige EDM-Sounds.

DeVicious werden im Jahr 2022 auch ihre eigene Comics-Serie “Dollhouse DV” veröffentlichen. Die Hauptcharaktere dieser Comics sind die Models auf dem Album-Cover von „Black Heart” und den Singles. Die Comics und das Artwork stammen komplett von der Band selbst. Drei der 12 auf dem Album enthaltenen Lieder sind auch Teil des offiziellen Soundtracks zu den Comicbüchern.

“Black Heart” wurde von Alex Frey in den Tower 13 Studios, Karlsruhe produziert,von Patrick Damiani in den Tidalwave Studios, Karlsdorf gemischt und von Robin Schmidt bei 24-96 Mastering Karlsruhe gemastert. Michael Bormann (Michael Bormann’s Jaded Hard) und Baol Bardot Bulsara (TNT) sind bei den Backingvocals als Gästsänger zu hören.DeVicious absolvieren im April 2022 eine Double Headliner-Tour mit der Formation Night Laser.

Meinung:

Hmmm...Das ganze klingt in der Tat "anders"..."Spaciger"?Schwebender?Ich kann´s schwer beschreiben,wie ich das ganze beim hören empfinde...Bisher mochte ich alle Alben von DeVicious sofort und ohne jegliche Diskussion!

Sicher-das sind noch DeVicious...Ich glaub,das Album muss ich noch 10 x hören...Allerdings gebe ich IMMER meinen Eindruck nach dem Ersten hören wieder,weil für mich der Erste Eindruck zählt!Und der ist ja nicht schlecht,aber "gewöhnungsbedürftig".Ich möchte diesen Ausdruck aber nicht negativ zu verstehen geben!

Mal abwarten,wie das Album bei den Fans ankommt!

7,5 von 10 Punkte

https://www.facebook.com/deviciousband


DARE - Road To Eden

Veröffendlichung : 01.04.2022

UK Rock band Dare are probably best known for their lead singer songwriter Darren Wharton, who first rose to fame in the early eighties playing keyboards with legendary Irish rock band Thin Lizzy. DARE are one of the most respected and innovative melodic rock bands working today, and have gained cult status among AOR fans throughout Europe, the UK and the world. The band’s debut 1989 album ‘Out Of The Silence’ recorded at Joni Mitchell’s Bel Air Studio Los Angeles, and produced by Nickelback producer Mike Shipley is still widely regarded today as one of the all time great AOR albums.

ROAD TO EDEN follows Dare’s critically acclaimed albums SACRED GROUND released in 2016 and Out Of The Silence 2, 2018. Both albums reaching Number #1 in the Amazon Classic Rock Charts in four Countries, UK, Germany, Italy and Spain. Dare entered the top #5 in the official UK Rock charts, number #6 in the U.S Amazon Classic Rock Chartsand number #1 in Japan Rock Imports.Road To Eden is destined to be another modern DARE classic.

Produced and written by Darren Wharton at his studio in the majestic mountains of North Wales, the new album has a harder rock edge than previous albums, whilst still retaining the atmospheric sound, and anthem like melodies that has become the bands trademark. Road To Eden features ten brand new beautifully crafted songs that captures the very heart of DARE.

With a full headline UK tour set for the UK in 2022, plus dates in Spain, Scandinavia and Germany, it’s going to be an exciting year, explains Darren. “We wanted to write an album that translated well to live performance and Road To Eden has some great anthems, energy and power. We can’t wait to play these songs live”

With previous DARE albums now having well over 4 million streams on Spotify, it’s clear that for the growing army of DARE fans, the wait is nearly over, as they get ready to join DARE on The Road To Eden.

“Road To Eden” will be released on CD & digital on April 1st, 2022 via Legend Records. A release on vinyl will be scheduled later in the year. We’ll handle the PR for this release in Europe and will start to send out digital promos via Haulix shortly.

Band Line-Up:

Darren Wharton (vocals, keyboards)

Vinny Burns (guitars)

Nigel Clutterbuck (bass guitar)

Kev Whitehead (drums)

Marc Roberts (keyboards)

https://www.darebandofficial.com

https://www.facebook.com/darebandofficial

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0w1X3svyHmK0ZcHNvyrMXw

MEINUNG:

Ich hab mal lange überlegt...An wen erinnert mich diese Band...Jau...Es gab mal in den 80er Jahren eine Band mit dem Namen GLASS TIGER...Die fand ich damals sehr Klasse!

Und ja...Das ganze klingt sehr "Weichspüler-Mäßig"... Aber Geil!Es bereitet meinen Ohren Freude,einen Sänger auch singen zu hören!Klar und deutlich UND mit viiiiel Gefühl!...DAS ist bei vielen Bandds / Produktionen heutzutage nicht unbedingt selbstverständlich.Entweder man kann es oder eben nicht.Darren Wharton kann es!

Die gesamte Instrumentierung ist auch einfach - ich nenn es mal ganz salopp - ebenfalls gut "am Start"!

ALLES in sich empfinde ich als sehr stimmig!Natürlich auch die Produktion ansich!Da wurde toll gearbeitet im Studio!

Ach ja...man kann schon zu der Meinung kommen,das dieses Album ein reines Balladen-Album ist!Ja...die Songs kommen sehr ruhig rüber und...nochmal...mit sehr viel Gefühl!

Allerdings hat dieses Gefühl eine sehr hohe Intensität,so das man nicht von durchgängigen "Balladen-Album" sprechen kann!

10 von 10 Punkte


J.B.O. - Planet Pink

Veröffendlichung: 15.04.2022

Jetzt mal ganz im Ernst: War die Erde je ein gemütlicher oder gar freundlicher Ort? Pandemien, Umweltkatastrophen,steigende Bierpreise, da kann sich die Menschheit ja nur in den Eskapismus flüchten. Also ab in den Raumgleiter und hinauf zu den Sternen, wo ab dem 18. März 2022 der „Planet Pink“ seine Bahnen dreht.

J.B.O. sind seit über 30 Jahren die anerkannten Fachkräfte für lautstarken Eskapismus auf allerhöchstem Niveau.Edelmetallauszeichnungen und Chartpositionen in den Top Ten pflastern ihren Weg, „Planet Pink“ wird da keine Ausnahme machen. Auch wenn das Album unter gänzlich anderen Umständen zustande kam als seine Vorgänger. Normalerweise treffen sich die beiden Band-Kapitäne Vito C. und Hannes „G.Laber“ Holzmann nämlich zum gemeinsamen Ideenaustausch auf einer Couch. Dieses Mal erfolgte selbiger pandemiebedingt durch das Telefon, was aber erstaunlich gut funktionierte, weil sich Vito und Hannes besser kennen als eineiige Zwillinge. Auch wenn sie nicht unbedingt so aussehen.

Und so wurden die ersten Ideen zu Songs wie dem wundervoll eindeutig zweideutigen Liebeslied „Einhorn“ oder dem ironischen „Rockmusik hat mich versaut“ (eine Abrechnung mit Gegnern der verzerrten Gitarre, die im Grunde nur neidisch sind) mündlich überliefert. Bei letztgenanntem Song kriselt die Langzeitfreundschaft dann aber doch für einen Augenblick, denn beide Frontmänner fühlten sich berufen, das Stück zu singen. Dieses Problem konnte nur in einem Duell entschieden werden, das die J.B.O.-Fans mit ihrer Stimme beeinflussen durften. High Noon in Erlangen, wo Schwerter zu Gitarren werden.

Neben diesen und anderen Eigenkompositionen finden sich auf „Planet Pink“ natürlich auch wieder die von vielen Anhängern geliebten Coverversionen. Gleich der als Single ausgekoppelte Titelsong „Planet Pink“ kommt einem sonderbar bekannt vor.

Richtig, die italienische Gruppe Eiffel 65 landete im Jahr 1999 mit „Blue (Da Ba Dee)“ einen Multiplatinhit im Eurodance-Sektor. Anders als manch andere Kollegen und deren Verlage zeigten sich die Südeuropäer offen für eine Neubearbeitung und boten sogar freiwillig eine Beteiligung an den Textcredits an. Ein für Vito und Co. bisher einzigartiger Vorgang, weshalb man sich im Hause J.B.O. vor dieser kollegialen Geste verneigt.

Auch das bereits im letzten Oktober als erste Single veröffentlichte „Metal Was My First Love“ hat einen ziemlich bekannten „großen Bruder“. „Music“ von John Miles enterte im Jahr 1976 die Charts und gehört seitdem zum Kanon der Populärmusik.J.B.O. verwandeln das Orchesterarrangement in eine Gitarrenarmee, wobei Vitos Sammlung alter Amps zum Einsatz kommt.

Und auch wenn der Titel in englischer Sprache gesungen ist, haben die rosa Franken jetzt nicht plötzlich vor, internationale Superstars zu werden. Na gut, ein bisschen vielleicht. Dafür dürfen sich bei diesem Stück wieder die Fans austoben. Denn in einer speziellen Version im Internet lassen sich nach Download des Songs einzelne Tonspuren, also zum Beispiel Sologitarre, Bass oder Gesang abschalten und neu bespielen. Was mit den unzähligen Fanversionen passieren wird? Das wird die Zeit zeigen.

Aufgenommen wurde „Planet Pink“ einmal mehr mit Christoph Beyerlein im Sound and Groove Studio in Nürnberg. Beyerlein ist seit 1994 Teil der rosa J.B.O.-Familie und im Studio längst das fünfte Bandmitglied. Unter seinen aufmerksamen Ohren wurden die diversen Demos, die im Vorfeld entstanden, sortiert und veredelt, damit am Ende nur ein Planet am Firmament in den schrillsten Farben leuchtet: „Planet Pink“.

MEINUNG

Also...die Produktion ist FETT!So...und weiter geht´s...

Ich sag´s vorweg...und bin auch für jeden BLÖDSINN zu haben,mag auch IRONIE...Und darum geht´s ja auch bei J.B.O.DAS ist ja alles OK!

ABER SORRY...J.B.O.?Nix für mich!Für andere vielleicht-was auch OK ist.Geschmäcker sind halt verschieden!Deshalb halte ich mich mit weiteren Äußerung auch zurück.

7 von 10 Punkte (weil am Mischpult nen´ guter Job gemacht wurde)


Bible Black - The Complete Recordings 1981 - 1983

Veröffendlichung: 14.04.2022

Bible Black was an East Coast American band formed by former Elf/Rainbow musicians Gary Driscoll and Craig Gruber, along with Andrew “Duck” McDonald.

The bands longest tenured singer was Jeff Fenholt, well known for hisvery brief stint with Tony Iommi/Black Sabbath and his work with the band Joshua.The band also featured in its ranks 2 well known vocalists:

Lou Marullo who later became known as the one and only Eric Adams...and Joey Belladonna who of course went on to join Anthrax.
All three vocalists recorded demos with Bible Black between the periods of 1981-1983. This cd for the first time compiles all recorded works of the band in one place.

Sadly Gary Driscoll, Craig Gruber and Jeff Fenholt have all since passed away, making this release a fitting epitaph to their time together as Bible Black.
Restored and remastered by Patrick Engel and licensed directly from the last surviving member Andrew “Duck” McDonald” we can now hear one of the great “lost bands” and a piece of Heavy Metal history.

Spring 1981 - Craig having been out of Sabbath for about a year moved back to upstate New York and contacted Gary to put something together. Looking for a guitar player they contacted Duck right after Shakin Street broke up who was also in upstate at the time and got together to write some songs. Craig wrote one (She’s Gone) Duck wrote one (Back to Back) which Micky Lee Soule played piano on and they wrote one together (Metal Man) Looking for a singer Duck was friends and had played in bands with Louis Murello (Eric Adams) and suggested him for the vocals. Louis didn’t work out for the band but he did work out for another band coming out of upstate at the same time,Manowar.

Craig knew a singer in the New York area Jeff Fenholt so he went to a friend of his (Geoff Glixman) to rerecord the vocals and remix two of the tracks. As a producer he thought the band should be going more in the direction of She’s Gone and Metal Man more metal than Elf style. In the meantime Gary and Duck were in Illinois doing some studio work with Terry Lutrell (REO Speedwagen and Starcastle).

They weren’t a band at this point so were doing different things but liked each other and enjoyed playing together and knew there was certain chemistry between them. When Gary and Duck got back from Illinois they heard the remixes with Jeff doing the vocals and were blown away so they all decided to put more songs together with Jeff on vocals and Geoff Glixman producing that’s when they became Bible Black.

The Band went into rehearsal to write some new material with a set direction and made their first business decision, because of the power and the chemistry of the four of them they decided to share the songwriting credit equally no matter who wrote what, it was a successful decision to make and made the music more powerful as a result. After they had about ten songs Craig talked to Geoff about coming down to his studio in Atlanta to record. He picked four songs to do ( Ain’t no Crime, Down On The World,Fighting The Wind and Back Door) and they came out great so next was to get some management and Geoff recommended Larry Mazer he was pretty green at the time but has become one of the biggest managers in the business. He set up a showcase for the band in New York at S.I.R. Studios but only booked the small rehearsal room instead of the big soundstage room, the band had a lot of gear and it didn’t even fit in the rehearsal room and Geoff thought it was a bad idea as did the band so they didn’t do the showcase.

They acquired new management at this point, a well respected New York music lawyer Harold Orenstien. So as Harold was shopping the tape they were doing some live shows all told they did about 10 -15 live shows. They decided to go back in the studio to record three more songs a remake (Paint It Black) and two new songs (Fires Of Old and You Got Me Where You Want Me) this time they went in with the legendary Felix Papalardi as the producer. They were starting to unravel about this time with personal problems, financial problems and frustration over no forthcoming contract.

Harold set up a showcase at the Ritz in Manhattan and all the major record companies were there and when the smoke cleared no contract. Jeff decided to leave the band and a few months later Craig too.

Gary and Duck gave it one more try and found a young upstate singer Joey Bellardini (later to be known as Joey Belladonna in Anthrax) and a bass player Joe Sopp and went back in the studio and did two songs (Deciever and Midnight Dancer) they Bible Black decided the magic was gone and called it a day.

Sadly Craig Gruber passed away in 2015, followed by Jeff Fenholt in 2019 Bible Black ….one of the great unsigned bands of the time.

MEINUNG:

Wenn man mal liest...Leute...das ist Musikgeschichte!Und es klingt GEIL-damals sowieso...heute immer noch!UND...es macht SPASS!

FETTE 10 von 10 Punkte


Axel Rudi Pell - Lost XXIII

Veröffendlichung : 15.04.2022

Nur echte Vollblutmusiker mit wirklich großer kreativer Substanz schaffen es, sich derart lange am Markt zu halten wie Axel Rudi Pell. Seit weit mehr als 30 Jahren veröffentlicht der Bochumer Gitarrist und Songschreiber mit seiner A.R.P-Band in regelmäßigen Abständen neue Alben. Die Resonanzen darauf sind durchweg glänzend, die blendenden Verkaufszahlen, hohen Charts-Notierungen und kontinuierlich steigenden Zuschauerzahlen seiner Konzerte und Tourneen sprechen eine eindeutige Sprache.

Wie schon auf den vorangegangenen vier Studioalben INTO THE STORM (2014), GAME OF SINS (2016), KNIGHTS CALL (2018) und dem mit Platz 5 der deutschen Charts hochdekorierten SIGN OF THE TIMES (2021), der Cover-Scheibe DIAMONDS UNLOCKED II (2021) und zwei Live-Scheiben besteht die ARP-Band auch 2022 aus Sänger Johnny Gioeli, Bassist Volker Krawczak, Keyboarder Ferdy Doernberg und Schlagzeuger Bobby Rondinelli (Ex- Rainbow), eine perfekt geölte Hardrock-Maschinerie, die Pells Kompositionen routiniert umsetzt und sie zugleich mit eigenen Trademarks veredelt. Sogar noch länger als die aktuelle Besetzung besteht Pells 33(!)-jährige Zugehörigkeit (im 33. Jahr seiner Solokarriere!) zu Steamhammer/SPV. Eine absolute Ausnahme in einem von Unstetigkeit und kurzlebigen Trends gekennzeichneten Metier.

Produziert wurde LOST XIII von Axel Rudi Pell, gemischt hat Tommy Geiger, gemastert wurde die Scheibe von Ulf Horbelt, das mystische Cover-Artwork stammt erneut von Thomas Ewerhard (u.a. Gotthard, Edguy, Sons Of Apollo). Bleibt abschließend nur noch, das kleine Geheimnis um den Albumtitel zu lösen. Dazu Pell: „XXIII ist die römische Ziffer für die Zahl ‚23‘ und symbolisiert den 23. Buchstaben im Alphabet, das ‚W‘. Und das steht in diesem Fall als Abkürzung für ‚World‘, man könnte das Album also auch ‚Lost World‘ nennen und es auf die derzeit besorgniserregende Situation der Welt münzen.“ Alle weiteren offenen Fragen werden er und seine erstklassige Band dann im Frühjahr und Herbst auf Tournee beantworten.

Line Up:

Johnny Gioeli - Lead and Backing Vocals

Axel Rudi Pell - Lead, Rhythm and Acoustic Guitars

Ferdy Doernberg - Keyboards

Volker Krawczak - Bass

Bobby Rondinelli – Drums

MEINUNG:

Man kommt nicht an ihm vorbei...OHNE Axel Rudi Pell geht nix!Das ist nun mal ein Fakt,den auch ich begreifen musste.Zumal ich nie so wirklich "warm" wurde mit seinen alben.Aber in den letzten Jahren hab ich so meinen "musikalischen Frieden" geschlossen.für meine Ohren WAR es so in der Vergangenheit:"Langweiliges Zeuch!"ABER...wie gesagt.."musikalischer Friede" und so...

Das,was mich zum Umdenken bewogen hat,hängt auch mit der Stimme von Johnny Gioeli zusammen.Natürlich...ARP ist auch Teil meines Umdenkens!Früher mochte ich nicht unbedingt die Art seine Arbeit mit und auf der Gitarre.War halt nicht so mein Ding.Aber wenn man sich mal etwas näher mit allem beschäftigt...

Allerdings muss ich auch zugeben,das ich jetzt nicht den ganzen oder jeden Tag ARP höre bzw. hören muss.Es ist für mich etwas so für "Zwischendurch"-halt wie so´n Knoppers morgens um 11 Uhr in Deutschland!

Der nächste Punkt,warum ich das ARP-Zeug mittlerweile mag:Der "sachliche" Mix.Da wird im Studio gute Arbeit am Mischpult geleistet.Ich mag den Gesamtsound des Albums.

Nun gut...DAS sind meine Punkte...

8 von 10 Punkte


Heavy Metal Rock Vol.: 1

Veröffendlichung : 08.04.2022

Heavy metal is so much more than just music, or a music style. Since its very early beginnings, it gathered people under one flag, it gave to the rejected and misfits of society a sense of belonging and a “tribe” that cared for its members. Unlike many “specialists” predicted, the genre is alive and well more than 40 years after Tony Iommi invented the first heavy and downtuned rock’n’roll riff. More young bands jumping to the style wagon, more astonishing releases every day and new, young fans, discovering new and old bands and opening the doors to the heavy metal world, from which they’ll never go out again.

From The Vaults is a label created to unite both ends of the heavy metal spectrum. With an A&R team that includes Michael Stützer (from Artillery fame) and Tom Noble (long-time Tygers Of Pan Tang manager), it was created to sign new fresh-blooded groups and old bands of musicians that are slowly realizing that their steady, married profiles can actually fit a “weekend warrior” life again.

Enter “Heavy Metal Rock Vol. 1”. The label compilation compiled by Michael Hvolgaard Andersen, named after the genre-thematic Heavy Metal Rock Meeting festival that is to be held in Helsingør this March, brings you the best Danish bands signed to the label. From the spiked heavy metal of veterans Evil to the more melodic approach of Meridian, “Heavy Metal Rock, Vol. 1” is a catalog of what’s timeless, new and exciting in the genre right now, released exclusively in the most iconic heavy metal formats of all times: black vinyl.
Furthermore, you’ll be able to find some never-heard-before songs from bands such as

Atro City, Mirage, Anoxia, Meridian, Pectora, Steel Inferno or Street Fighter (featuring Rasmus Bom Andersen of Diamond Head fame), while banging your head to the latest songs of Metal Cross, Evil and Alien Force, which have all recently released album on From The Vaults. The “treasures” department go straight to Mirage’s “The Emperor” and Atro City “Introseduction”, two heavy metal underground classics that see edition in black gold for the first time ever. All songs in the compilation were mastered at Angioni Studios by Marco Angioni.

All good reasons to get your hands into one of the 300 copies of “Heavy Metal Rock Vol. 1”,a record that, more than a compilation, is a way of life statement.

Tracklist:
A1. Evil “Evil Never Dies
A2. Steel Inferno “Succubus”
A3. Wasted “The Flood”
A4. Street Fighter “Queen Of The Night”
A5. Meridian “Falling”
A6. Anoxia “Take Down The Mountains
B1. Metal Cross “My Time”
B2. Pectora “Son Of The Four”
B3. Mirage “The Emperor”
B4. Alien Force “Rebellions”
B5. Witch Cross “Metal Detector”
B6. Atro City “Introseduction”

MEINUNG

Gute Bands,GUTE Mischung!Insgesamt eine interessante Auswahl.Kann man sich echt antun:)

7,5 von 10 Punkte

Translate »

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Weitere Informationen

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen